Bar Raids Again in Pattaya

Anything and everything about Thailand
Gaybutton

Bar Raids Again in Pattaya

Post by Gaybutton »

There is a report on the Sawatdee forum that the police have been raiding the bars again in Boystown, Sunee Plaza, and Jomtien Complex, corroborated by several follow-up posts. See: https://sawatdeenetwork.com/v4/showthre ... mtien-Raid.

I put a question mark in the topic title only because I have not been to the bars recently, so I have no firsthand knowledge of these raids and I have not heard about them from anyone I know. But I certainly have no reason to doubt the veracity of the reports.

If anyone has any further information, please post.
Gaybutton

Re: Bar Raids Again in Pattaya (?)

Post by Gaybutton »

I could remove the question mark now, at least for Jomtien Complex. This morning I had breakfast with a farang friend, here on a holiday, who is staying in Jomtien Complex and witnessed the raid.

Apparently the police are primarily going after boys testing positive for drug use and foreign boys, usually Cambodian and Laotian, working illegally in the bars.
fountainhall

Re: Bar Raids Again in Pattaya (?)

Post by fountainhall »

I have rarely been to Jomtien Complex and usually only to Dick's Cafe. I have heard that most of the boys working around there are Lao, Cambodian and Vietnamese. If that's correct, how many boys are left in the various bars?
Gaybutton

Re: Bar Raids Again in Pattaya

Post by Gaybutton »

fountainhall wrote:I have heard that most of the boys working around there are Lao, Cambodian and Vietnamese.
That is true for one bar in particular, but only sporadically in the rest of the bars. My guess is few, if any, were actually caught. Somehow they usually manage to get tipped off and the boys skedaddle.

On the Sawatdee forum topic apparently aussie was in Jomtien Complex and posted: