The Saga of GB's Telephone

Gaybutton

The Saga of GB's Telephone

Post by Gaybutton »

I finally broke down and bought a new mobile phone. I finally decided the time has come to retire the phone I've been using for about the last seven years and get myself well into the 21st century. I wanted a phone with good internet capability. I bought a Samsung Android phone - their Galaxy Cooper model. The reason I went for that one is because RichLB had been telling me his boyfriend has one and is very pleased with it. I asked where he bought it. He said he bought it at Lotus, not Tuk Com, because at Tuk Com you never know if you're getting the genuine article or a counterfeit.

So, off I went to the Sukhumvit Tesco-Lotus. There was the phone - on display with all the others. They wanted 9900 baht for it. I called the salesman over and told him I want that phone. Next thing I knew, he disappeared. A few minutes later he returned and told me to go to the service desk. When I got there, the guy behind the counter said, "You want Samsung?" I said yes. He produced four different Samsungs, none of which were the model I asked for, but all of which were much more expensive. I said, "Why are you showing me these? You already know the one I want."

"No have," was his reply.

"What do you mean, 'No have'? It's on your display."

"No have," he repeated.

I wasn't about to spend thousands of baht more, so I bid him a fond farewell. In that same Lotus, there's another phone shop near the cashiers. I went over and there was the phone I wanted on display. I said I want it. "No have." the guy said. Ok, bye bye.

In one of the shops outside, there is a Telewiz. I went in there and there was the phone in their display case. I told the salesgirl I want one of those. 'No have."