Heart Attack Advice

RichLB

Heart Attack Advice

Post by RichLB »

A friend forwarded this to me and I found it helpful. Beware, though, I am NOT a medical doctor so can't vouch for the advice.
------------
HOW TO SURVIVE A HEART ATTACK WHEN ALONE.

Since many people are alone when they suffer a heart attack without help, the person whose heart is beating improperly and who begins to feel faint, has only about 10 seconds left before losing consciousness.

However these victims can help themselves by coughing repeatedly and very vigorously. A deep breath should be taken before each cough and the cough must be deep and prolonged as when producing sputum from deep inside the chest. A breath and cough must be repeated about every 2 seconds without let up until help arrives on until the heart begins to beat normally again.

Deep breaths get oxygen into the lungs and coughing movement squeezes the heart and keeps the blood circulating. The squeezing pressure on the heart helps it regain a normal rhythm.

I've also been told taking an aspirin is helpful as it thins the blood.
Rogie

Re: Heart Attack Advice

Post by Rogie »

Thanks for alerting us to this Rich, but having had a look at a few sites that offer advice on how to survive a heart attack (either when alone or not) it seems the method you describe is unlikely to be helpful. In fact one medic has gone so far as to say this about it:
“It’s right up there with voodoo as far as I’m concerned,”
http://mendedhearts.org/resources/about ... hing-rumor

However, the advice to take aspirin would appear to be widely advocated.

There's also some what seems to me very sensible advice here:
To know if you’re suffering from a heart attack, you first need to be able to identify its symptoms. Classical symptoms of a heart attack include: